Asian-inspired Steak

Being newly-married, I am having to adjust to cooking for a boy.  If it was just me, I could live off of apples, vegetables, and a crusty piece of bread.  But it’s not just me.  Thankfully.

I’ve been researching a lot of new recipes for meat, expanding my palate and knowledge. I borrowed this great recipe for skirt steak from The Pioneer Woman, it’s absolutely delicious.  I wish I had more pictures, but I made this long ago, before the blog even began.  I’ve shared it with so many people, though, that I thought it deserved a bit of attention.  The marinade in this recipe is really versatile and can be used for chicken, fish, shrimp, tofu, even a sauce…

Asian-inspired steak paired with crispy broccoli and brown rice

The recipe…
1/2 cup Soy Sauce
1/2 cup Sherry
1/4 cup Honey
2 Tbsp Sesame Oil
1 1/2 Tbsp Ginger (heaping)
1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
2 Flat Iron/Skirt Steaks (or any steak you like)
Garnish: Scallions and toasted sesame seeds

Combine and whisk soy sauce, sherry, honey, sesame oil, ginger, and red pepper flakes.*  Pour over steaks and marinate for at least 4 hours.  Grill steaks on high heat for 5 minutes on each side for medium-rare steaks.**  Allow to rest for 5 minutes before slicing.

Toast sesame seeds at 350 until slightly browned.  Slice scallions on a sharp bias.  After slicing meat, sprinkle over top of meat.  In my opinion, you can never have too many scallions or sesame seeds.  They add so much flavor and texture.

*Make additional marinade or reserve a portion of the marinade to make a sauce.  Simply put all ingredients into a sauce pan, bring to a boil, and allow to reduce by 1/4- 1/2. Strain out ginger.  Pour over sliced steaks and rice.

**Optional cooking method: preheat oven to 350.  Sear steaks for 2 minutes on each side and then put in oven for 5-10 minutes.  Allow to rest for 5 minutes before slicing.

I served this with roasted broccoli and brown rice.  It was a perfect Saturday night, manly meal!

Leave a Reply

